Announcement | 28. February 2022

Statement of Solidarity with Ukraine, its Citizens, Artists, and Academics

Flag of Ukraine

Flag of Ukraine Creator: Grafissimo

Freedom, peace and dialogue are elementary prerequisites for science, art and culture worldwide. In NFDI4Culture, we have joined together as an international network with the goal of promoting exchange in research, art and culture and connecting them in common infrastructures.

We react with shock to the military attack on Ukraine in violation of international law. A brutal war in the middle of Europe brings immense suffering to people and threatens cultural exchange as well as cultural artefacts from centuries of common European history.

Our unrestricted solidarity goes to all people in Ukraine. It applies to all scientists and artists who stand up against aggression, war and oppression there and all over the world.

With the help of our consortial network we support researchers and artists at risk and put them in touch with contact persons and initiatives that enable them to continue their work in safe places. Please contact us directly via our Twitter channel ( and via contact(at)nfdi4culture(dot)de.

Prof. Torsten Schrade (Spokesperson, Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz)
Prof. Dr. Holger Simon (Chairperson des Steering Boards, Verband deutscher Kunsthistoriker e.V.)
Prof. Dr. Dörte Schmidt (Chairperson des Advisory Councils, Universität der Künste Berlin)

Reinhard Altenhöner (Co-Spokesperson, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Ina Blümel (Co-Spokesperson, TIB Hannover)
Prof. Dr. Franziska Boehm (Co-Spokesperson, FIZ Karlsruhe)
Dr. Jens Bove (Co-Spokesperson, SLUB Dresden)
Dr. Christian Bracht (Co-Spokesperson, Deutsches Dokumentationszentrum für Kunstgeschichte, Bildarchiv Foto Marburg)
Dr. Lisa Dieckmann (Co-Spokesperson, Universität zu Köln)
Dr. Maria Effinger (Co-Spokesperson, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg)
Prof. Dr. Malte Hagener (Co-Spokesperson, Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Daniel Röwenstrunk (Co-Spokesperson, Universität Paderborn)
Prof. Dr. Harald Sack (Co-Spokesperson, FIZ Karlsruhe)
Prof. Dr. Barbara Wiermann (Co-Spokesperson, SLUB Dresden)